“But it was worthwhile” {A Book that Changed My Life}

When I was in my teenage years, I met a man who worked with the Voice of the Martyrs. Now, he was just passing through town, had some wild- out of the way- connection to one of the members of my church, and needed a roof over his head for the night. But he was so friendly. And he gave me the first copy I ever owned of Tortured for Christ
Tortured for Christ

Several worn-out or given away copies later… 🙂

Now, now. I know that this is probably the absolute oddest book you could expect on a link-up about books that influenced being a wife and mom. But just read to what Mr. Wurmbrand shares and you’ll be amazed at the wisdom found in this little book.

You see, through reading this book as a teenager {and dozens of times as an adult}, I’ve learned that when we go through our lives as wives and mothers, we tend to spend a lot of time feeling sorry for ourselves. We have to get the least amount of sleep, we get the least amount of treats, and we do the majority of the tedium. We feel pity for ourselves.

“God will judge us not according to how much we endured, but how much we could love.”

We question why we have to endure all these things, why we can’t just have it easy like we think everyone else does. Why people ‘mistreat’ us and forget that we have needs ourselves. But then I can remember through reading the words of Richard Wurmbrand that without God directing their steps, men and women are little more than monsters.  The brutality of men reach even to our doorsteps in our ‘civilized’ and ‘free’  nation{ever met a child afraid to speak because of his mother? a woman afraid of her husband?} We are all broken… lost… horrid… without God.

“When a man has no faith in the reward of good or the punishment of evil, there is no reason to be human. There is no restraint from the depths of evil that is in man.”

We get lost in the day to day hassles and forget that we did not give birth to these children for this day, this hour, this moment, but for the future. For the men and women they will grow into and the place they will take among the multitude.

“We should never stop at having won a soul for Christ. By this, we have done only half the work. Every soul won for Christ must be made to be a soul-winner.”

Richard Wurmbrand lived through incredible horrors, but witnessed amazing miracles that can shake the very core of what you believe about the Real and Present God, of what your daily struggles {even through the mundane} can mean for eternity.

Even though Richard Wurmbrand did not write specifically to the condition of being a wife and mother, the words that he wrote influence me daily. How can I be angry with my child for being a child, for having the enthusiasm, the faith, the exuberance of childhood? How can I not be willing to speak out when I see a friend carelessly trampling the physical or emotional well-being of another? We live in a country where it is so easy to forget how much we can choose… and how much freedom we have to choose wrong, but how much freedom we have to choose right.

“If a poor man is a great lover of music, he gives his last dollar to listen to a concert. He is then without money, but he does not feel frustrated. He has heard beautiful things. I don’t feel frustrated to have lost many years in prison. I have seen beautiful things. I myself have been among the weak and insignificant ones in prison, but have had the privilege to be in the same jail with great saints, heroes of faith who equaled the Christians of the first centuries. They went gladly to die for Christ. The spiritual beauty of such saints and heroes of faith can never be described. The things that I say here are not exceptional. The supernatural things have become natural to Christians in the Under­ground Church who have returned to their first love.”

 

Even more than what he wrote about his life in that prison, the words on page 15 & 16 sum up {more than I can write a single blog post of} what I want to live my life like:

The Communists convened a congress of all Christian bodies in our Parliament building. There were four thousand priests, pastors, and ministers of all denominations- and these men of God chose Joseph Stalin as honorary president of this congress…

… One after another, bishops and pastors arose and declared that communism and Christianity are fundamentally the same and could coexist….

My wife and I were present at this congress. Sabina told me, “Richard, stand up and wash away this shame from the face of Christ! They are spitting in His face.”

I said to her, ” If I do so, you lose your husband.”

She replied, ” I don’t wish to have a coward as a husband.” 

Then I arose and spoke to this congress, praising not the murderers of Christians, but Jesus Christ, stating that our loyalty is due first to Him…. Afterward I had to pay for this, but it was worthwhile. 

____________________________

If you are inspired or curious enough to read Mr. Wurmbrand’s writing, I encourage you to visit the Voice Of The Martyr’s Website: www.persecution.com, and request a copy of this book: They’ll send it to you for free.

One thought on ““But it was worthwhile” {A Book that Changed My Life}

  1. Pingback: Adversity vs Adventure | Joy on a Shoestring

Leave a Reply

